The Assassin’s Blade Review

Full SPOILER Review:

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 4/5

I really loved these short stories. They were all fun, and unique in their own way. I wish I had read them before I had read Crown of Midnight, but oh well.

 

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord

Rating: 4/5

Main Characters: Celaena, Rolfe, Sam, Dia, Arobynn

This short story was so much fun, and a great way to start off the book. The story itself was very solid, but it lacked the wow factor that some of the other stories had. I also found myself really hating Celaena in this story, because even though she did end up saving the innocent slaves in the end, I felt she was still very selfish and bratty. I did like the villain, Rolfe, in this story because I felt that in such a short amount of time, Sarah J. Maas, was able to make his personality complex, interesting, and mysterious.

 

The Assassin and the Healer

Rating: 4/5

Main Characters: Celaena, Yrene

This story, while entertaining, was too short to give a perfect 5 stars to. I really enjoyed myself throughout reading this story, and I felt like this was the first time that Celaena’s sympathetic side felt real. I haven’t read past Crown of Midnight (so don’t spoil me) but I have a feeling that Yrene will come into play in the later books.

 

The Assassin and the Desert

Rating: 5/5

Main Characters: Celaena, Ansel, Ilias, Mute Master, Mikhail, Lord Berick

Wow. This one was amazing; possibly even my favorite. The new characters introduced were amazing, and I loved their interaction with Celaena. I was devastated when Ansel betrayed everybody, because I had grown to really like her friendship with Celaena. I once again think that Ansel will come back in the later books of the series, but we shall see.

 

The Assassin and the Underworld

Rating: 5/5

Main Characters: Celaena, Sam, Arobynn, Lysandra, Doneval, Philip

This was by far the most intense and mind-boggling novella out of them all. The whole time we were led to believe that Doneval was planning something bad, only to find out that Celaena had destroyed the very thing that she had been fighting for. This is also when Arobynn really becomes the villain of the story, because of his deceit and treachery.

 

The Assassin and the Empire

Rating: 3/5

 Main Characters: Celaena, Sam, Arobynn, Jayne, Farran

Unfortunately, the conclusion of these short stories was a let down for me. The story felt slow moving, and for a good majority of it I was just skimming the pages. Since I had already read Throne of Glass I knew what Sam’s fate was, but when he actually died I was disgusted at the way his dead body was described. It really horrified me that he was tortured to the point of having his eyes taken out, and the scene that we figure what happened to him definitely woke me up….

 

-Sean, kingdombookblog

One thought on “The Assassin’s Blade Review

Leave a Reply

